• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

Visas Marr Kotor II Veil Questions

ShadowFang3

Hi everyone!

I am just starting on the Visas Marr Kotor II costume. I am starting with creating a pattern for her veil.  I feel that I have gotten the look pretty close, but want some advice from people with more experience costuming/people who have completed this costume already.  Any tips or patterns that I can compare mine too?

Since I'm new to costume fabrics, are there any other fabrics than chiffon to use so that you can see where you are walking with ~1.25 inches band like Pam's tutorial uses? I'm planning on getting the inner dress and veil fabric soon so I want to make sure to get the right see through fabric for seeing on trooping days.

Also does anyone know a good way to upload progress pictures? I am unable to post anything above 500 KB and was wondering how to keep the quality of the photos.

Thanks,
K8 L33

For a pattern mock-up, I think it looks pretty good! If it is possible to take that back panel and make it a single, seamless panel when you deconstruct it for the actual red fabric, it would be better. 

As for fabric, since the character is blind, to stick to more accurate representation, the majority of Visas I know either just lift the veil enough so they can see a few feet in front of them, or they tip their head back and stare down the sides of their noses to navigate. You won't have normal visibility, but again, she's a blind character and isn't designed to be that way anyways. It's up to you how much you want to stray from the intent of the costume in terms of comfort in sight and mobility, but too much deviation may make it unapprovable. It's the accuracy vs. reality conundrum.