• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

Noob - totally in love with Mara Jade

Guest jenicle

Hi!

I'm new to the wonderful world of Star Wars costume-making and cosplaying, and have realized that this is something I need to be a part of.

After speaking to a relatively new acquaitance (who has a clone trooper getup, and is a member of the Nordic Garrison), he showed me some pictures of Mara Jade, and I just fell in love. I have to make this outfit! But I don't know where to start...

All the tutorials on here are fabulous, and being semi-handy with a sewing machine, I think I'll be able to craft some of the gear myself. But some parts of the costume, like shinguards, weapons, harnesses and holsters, I'm more unsure of again. Could you please give me some pointers as to where I should start?

I would greatly appreciate any help you have to offer!

Thanks in advance :-)

~Jenny

Guest PeppiPopcorn

Hi Jenny,

I finished my Mara Jade (black bodysuit) in April.

In my opinion it's always good to start with the most difficult parts. Mainly, because when you notice it doesn't work - you haven't payed so much money at that point.

So, do you have the right hair color? - If not - start with the wig!

(There was a time I wanted a Juno Eclipse costume - fortunately I stared with the wig - because I look really horrible with blonde hair ;) )

Next point: What's very difficult - the bodysuit. Take your time to find the ideal material. Some medium-sheen-four-way-strech-stuff. For me the "strech" is very important. And get some more stuff. Maybe you're lucky and the first try is ok, but especially when you're sewing skills aren't the best - you should prepare to need a second try. Most important: consider the pictures in the CRL!