• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

New Nihilus! & mask sculpt

rezori

Hey guys!

I've been creeping around the forums for a couple months and now that i'm well on my way with my COTF costume I have a couple questions. This will be my entry costume into the 501st so I'm a total n00b.

I'm about to start sewing the skirts and I'm wondering how you guys went about it. I'm new to sewing but have made the tunic, obi and sleeves so far so I feel comfortable enough with it, however I've been using a pattern thus far. Did you use a pattern for the skirts? I'm wondering if it's just a straight rectangle or if it should have a bit of a flare to it so it flows nicely when you walk.

The material i'm using is black-out drapery material so its thicker and i'm concerned about the gathers on the skirt not being 'tight' enough, if that makes sense?!

ANNNNDDDD to you lady Nihilus' out there!

How did you go about making your costume look like a dude?! I'm thinking sports bra to flatten the chest and foam shoulder wedges, maybe padding down the tummy?? Or does it work as you are?

Thanks so much!

Hi

And welcome ;)

I made a Nihilus COFT for one of my friends also as his first 501st. costume - I used a "normal" pattern for the skirt, just make sure to take a little bit extra fabric in the width, so you get the volume and nice look, when walking.

Nope, don´t get what you mean by tight enough ? easier with a pic ;)

Unless you´re extra gifted (like Pamela Anderson :)) ) a normal sports bra is fine, no one can tell, when all the layers are on.

You need to enjoy having this costume on and being all strapped in, is not pleasant. Also remember, that all this fabric is going to be hot + if you put in padding in the front, that it´s going to be even hotter.