• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

Lictor-von-Doom's Great Revan Ramble

Lictor-von-Doom

Hi all, I am in the process of attempting a 501st level Darth Revan costume, as I have loved the character and design since all the way back when Kotor 1 was released (still have my original copy somewhere).

I haven't been much of a costumer as I lacked confidence and will (and money lol). But I have attempted a couple of other small costumes for various things over the years, Earlier this year I made a foam version of the costume and it's not exactly quality and I feel I need to take this a step further in upgrading it to a quality costume.

MODEL 0 :My foam armour + ad-hock 2 hr before con mask

20190623_200314.jpg

Made it in a cave, with a box of scraps.

I'm not a beginner at working with resins and other materials, but i am very out of touch and rusty as I haven't done anything for at least 10 years. I also live in  a country where not everything is available or easy to get (or cheap).  As a sorta test, I have started to make my mask first (technically last because I didn't complete it for my model 0). I looked around at all the options and all of them either looked off or wouldn't fit my tiny tiny head. So I'm sculpting it out of a sulfur free clean clay, and though i can get it mostly looking revanish, it looks kinda off since i haven't done this in quite some time. Any tips on what I should change, if that be angles or whatever would be greatly appreciated. I'm going to cast it in polyester resin with fiberglass (terrible stuff but available), and aerate it very well before use :> Anyway, that's the plan.

20190728_160326.jpg

20190728_160353.jpg

20190728_160314.jpg?width=410&height=546

20190728_160318.jpg

20190728_160339.jpg