• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

Mighella WIP

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

We all know by now that poor Mighella doesn't have enough references for 501st consideration right now, but I wanted to share my costuming progress with you guys and thought this might be the right place to do it :) Besides! There's always hope that there might be future comics about her ;)

This is my first attempt at sewing with a sewing machine. I've watched my mom do it a handful of times and probably sewed a single seam on a doll dress when I was a kid... but I am a serious novice. Add to that a lack of a standard pattern that I could use or modify and, well, I'm pulling this whole thing out of thin air. Sorry this post is really long and babble-y and doesn't include as many pictures as I'd like!

My first issue was deciding on how to make my pattern. I initially wanted to use the wonderful dress form draping method I read about in the sewing thread, but I couldn't find a dress form that I could afford and was impatient about getting started. So I ended up laying wax paper on top of a shirt I knew fit me well (folded in half so I'd have a quarter piece since my wax paper isn't as wide as me) and traced out the top part of the dress. I measured out the bottom portion of the pattern based on my hip-to-ankle length. For the sleeves I used the same method of wax paper tracing over a three-quarter sleeve shirt I had. I measured my neck and the collar of another shirt for the mock turtleneck collar dimensions.

family015.jpg