• Announcement

Welcome to the forums!

If you are a newly-approved member, make sure you check out the New Member Checklist!

If you are a Detachment member and can't see the member-only area, post here for access.

-DV

Scratchbuilt Sith Acolyte (a sad story in need of your help)

kylegilbert

Hey! I'm new to this forum, I need some help and direction. I've wanted to join the 501st for a while, and I decided to jump right into building a Sith Acolyte Eradicator costume a few months ago. I've been doing some hobby prop making for a couple of years, and I thought I'd jump right in with a foam armor build. I didn't consider that it might not be approved by the 501st.

So I built the thing from scratch (other than a Wicked Armor mask and a Holocron saber), and in my opinion it turned out pretty beautiful.

IMG_58901-600x800.jpg

IMG_58971-600x800.jpg

IMG_58781-600x800.jpg

I knew that I'd probably need to make some adjustments, especially to the chest piece, which needed some additional forming, but I amassed all my WIP photographs and put together detailed build instructions on the Instructable website and put in my application for the 501st.

So imagine my surprise when I received an email letting me know that my costume wasn't going to work for the 501st. Honestly, I felt a little crushed and annoyed at first.

But now, here I am, a humbled version of my former cosplaying self. And I need some help here so that my next attempt doesn't go the same direction as this previous build.

I've started a second build, this time using PVC board for the construction material. The chest piece is mostly done, and so are the gauntlets, but when I asked my GML if I was headed in the right direction, he suggested that I post here for feedback.

IMG_6644-med-600x450.jpg

IMG_6758-600x450.jpg

And so, here I am. I would really appreciate your feedback and suggestions.